Raspberry Cream Cheese Brownies

You know how some people would never imagine feeding someone else something that they had made for the first time? I’m not one of them.  I thrive on it.  I know this drives some people nuts, but I have yet to hear of any fatalities that can be traced to my cooking, so I rest my case. In fact, when I was asked to bring something chocolatey to our office event on Thursday night I jumped at the chance to  try something I’ve never done before…and lo and behold, raspberry cream cheese brownies were born.

Here’s what I used:

Flour, cocoa, baking powder, salt, butter, sugar, eggs, instant espresso powder, vanilla, cream cheese, and raspberry jam.

I preheated the oven to 325 degrees (convection), and got myself all organized…well, as far as these brownies were concerned anyways.  My closet is another story.

I whisked together the flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt and then set it aside.

Now that that’s out of the way (literally), we can get on with our lives brownies.

Next, I blended the cream cheese, sugar, and vanilla until very smooth. When that was all taken care of, I added an egg and some flour, and then beat it again until it was just combined.  I like the looks of this already, don’t you?

FINALLY – it was time to make the brownie batter! I melted the butter and stirred it with some sugar:

Next, I dissolved the espresso powder in a little bit of water, and then added it to the butter/sugar mixture along with the eggs and vanilla and stirred it until it was well-blended.  Looking good so far!

Last but not least, I added the flour/cocoa mixture and stired until its just blended…don’t overbeat! This batter is THICK – so thick in fact, that some may or may not have ended up on my walls when I was mixing it.  Oops.

Let’s spread the batter into a 8 x 8″ greased pan…

…and lick the bowl!

Just kidding! I only spread about 2/3 of the batter in the pan and reserved the rest  to swirl on the top.

Remember the cream cheese mixture? Pour it over the batter and spread it around as such:

Drop the remaining brownie batter over the cream cheese layer, and then dollop the raspberry preserves over too.

Swirl the layers together with a knife so that the layers start to blend together.  Just as I was never good at colouring within the lines, swirling 3 batters of different densities together it not a skill set I have mastered.  Please see below for proof.

Oh well. Hopefully they’ll taste better than they look!

Pop the pan in the oven for 30-35 minutes, and then cool before cutting.

I think my lack of swirling ability has been redeemed; don’t you?

So, the million-dollar question that is on everyone’s mind (including mine) – how do these babies taste?! I have no clue. If you’re going to be at my office tomorrow night you can try one (or 15) and let me know then.  Stay tuned!

2 responses to “Raspberry Cream Cheese Brownies

  1. Bummed I’m going to be missing out! They look delicious!

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Cheesecake Brownies « Modern Day Martha

Leave a Reply

