The Great Dinner Dilemma

I have a fridge full of great ingredients, and a well-stocked pantry, but I tend to gravitate towards making the same types of food most of the time.  So…I thought this time, I’d get some other opinions and culinary inspiration!  Here is a list of what I have to work with:

Whole chicken

Fresh Spinich

Peppers (red, yellow, orange)

Whipping Cream

Potatoes (Russets)

Zucchini

Apples (Gala and Granny Smith)

Fridge Staples (Milk, Eggs, Lemons, Carrots, Celery, Onions, Garlic, etc)

Pantry Staples (Rice, Barley, Nuts, Spices, etc)

Oh yes, and I currently have bread dough proofing on the counter so that can be included too.

So…if you were me, what would you make? Would you do a chicken pot pie? A potato soup? Roasted chicken and scalloped potatoes? Reservations?

Don’t leave me hanging (or hungry!); send some ideas my way!

4 responses to “The Great Dinner Dilemma

  1. I’m impressed with all the stuff you have in your pantry! I wish my pantry at home looked like that. Sadly, I take leftovers from work all the time (which isn’t always bad). I did have an itch to cook at home yesterday, though, and found that all if I have is tomato paste and lemon juice… so depressing!

    What to make, what to make… I would go for a grilled veggie salad. If you have a bbq, grill the peppers (whole), the zucchini (cut into slices, brushed with olive oil, salt and pepper) , and the apple (cored, cut into slices, brushed with olive oil, salt and pepper). Cut the pepper into strips after grilled and toss all of them together. It makes a beautiful and fresh salad. If you want, drizzle with a little bit of balsamic at the very end.

    As for the chicken, I would simply roast it. Rub the outside of it with a “mortared and pestled” mix of garlic, lemon juice, sage, grainy mustard, olive oil, salt and pepper and stuff the inside of it with lemon wedges and sage. It will be yummy! Roast with potatoes and carrots along the edges in the same pan and it will be wonderful with the fresh salad and the bread.

    Can I come over for dinner when it’s all done?

  2. well, since you asked….
    You can part the chicken out, sear it and braise it in a Moroccan scented (cumin, cinnamon, star anise etc.)chicken stock with a little white wine and some lemon and orange zest, add some carrots, onions and some dried apricots. When the chicken is thoroughly cooked transfer it to another pan to rest, covered with foil. reduce the cooking liquid until it coats the back of the spoon – adding a pinch of butter at the end to make it thick and glossy. season with s&p and pour it back over your chicken.
    serve your braised chicken with a warm barley pilaf with lots of fresh herbs and toasted pistachios or pine nuts – the flavors will work well with the chicken and the barley will soak up some of the delicious sauce.
    Now – with the bread dough – pull it out with your fingers to create a free-form a flat bread, about the size of a cookie sheet. once it is flat, use your fingers to gently make little divots in the top – right before you put it in the oven pour over a generous amount of your best quality olive oil and a liberal sprinkling of flaky salt. serve the oily, salty warm flat bread with the chicken and the barley.

    I’ll be over around 6pm – can’t wait, this sounds delicious !

  3. Thanks for the suggestions…my mouth is watering! Stay tuned to see what I whip up…

  4. Well after I made Becky’s and Angie’s suggestions, lol. I’d make a tuscan chicken pasta dish with spinach served over homemade pappardelle, mixed with zucchini cut on manodline like pasta, served with homemade bread.I’d make an apple crostata for dessert topped with a dollop of whipped cream.

Leave a Reply

