Does the early bird REALLY get the worm?

I am not a morning person.  Never have been, probably never will be.  I can be bright and chipper into the wee hours of the morning, often doing my best work after midnight, but ask me to be somewhere at 6am? Well, lets just say I may rise but can’t guarantee that I will shine. I much prefer to work late into the night and get up at a leisurely pace the next morning.

HOWEVER I want to change that.  I want to become a morning person.  I believe that success leaves clues, and since many highly successful people attribute their success, at least in part, to getting up at a time that most of us would consider to be very early, I want to learn from their example.  I know that I am fully capable of being very productive in the morning, it just needs to become a more regular habit.

So – that brings me to my self-imposed challenge for the week. For this week, I am committing to getting up at 6am every day, regardless of what time I go to bed the night before.  Will this be easy for me? Probably not, and that’s ok. In fact, it’s a good thing. I’m sure I’ll learn a lot – about myself and my habits (good and bad), and be able to compare my productivity and energy levels.  I really have no clue what my final conclusion will be, but I think its worth a shot.

Are you an early riser? Do you have any tips? Send them my way!

Goodnight…or is it good morning?

2 responses to “Does the early bird REALLY get the worm?

  1. Just a suggestion, instead of parsley try garnishing with fresh Coriander.

    Enjoy reading your recipe ideas; keep up the good work.

    On the subject matter of rising early!! simple rule, one hour sleep before midnight is worth two hours sleep after midnight. In other words – early to bed and early to rise will make you healthy, wealthy and wise.

    Good luck.

  2. Going to bed early has been the only thing that makes getting up early something easy to do. Even then, there is a strange psychology that affects me when I see the numbers on the clock. I had to release my favorite TV shows and pick up my favorite books, reading until I fall asleep.

Leave a Reply

