Banana Muffins

Muffins are a funny thing. They are usually marketed as a healthy breakfast food, but the average store-bought muffin is not only very high in fat and calories but low in satiety, which is why I usually think of them as glorified cake.  Isn’t it interesting that while most people wouldn’t have a huge slice of cake for breakfast, many of us have no problem inhaling a jumbo muffin from Costco or Starbucks?  And they aren’t even that good!!! Hardly a breakfast of champions, but when you’re hungry they can look so tempting. If only looks weren’t so decieving…store bought muffins are usually sorely lacking in the flavour department.  Knowing this, I’ve tried my hand at making “healthier” muffins – and while edible, they usually taste a little too healthy for most taste buds.  With this in mind, I wanted to come up with a muffin that is lighter but still tasty for the masses, and also that can be thrown together in a hurry and doesn’t leave you wanting real food in 5 minutes.  I think I succeeded, but I hope you try them and let me know what you think.

The cast of characters:

Walnuts, Brown Sugar, Flour (AP + whole wheat), Ground Flax, Butter, Cinnamon, Splenda, Egg, Bananas, Canola Oil, Vanilla, Baking Powder, Baking Soda, Salt

Let’s make the topping first, ok? In a mini food processor, combine 3 TBSP brown sugar, 1 TBSP flour (either AP or WW), 1 TSBP ground flax, 1/8 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 c walnuts, and1/2 TBSP butter.

Pulse until it goes from this…

To this:

Set this aside, and move on to the muffins.

In a small bowl, whisk the dry ingredients together:

3/4 c AP flour

3/4 c WW flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

In a larger bowl, combine the following:

3 bananas

1/3 c canola oil

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

3/4 c Splenda*

*I almost never use Splenda, but I was cleaning out some cupboards today and found a large bag so I decided to throw caution to the wind and use it. You can use just plain white sugar, or another sugar substitute, if you prefer.

Blend the wet ingredients together – I recommend a potato masher, but you can use whatever you want as long as it looks like this once you’re done:

Add the dry ingredients to the wet ones…

…and stir gently until the flour mixture has been incorporated.

Divide the batter evenly into a muffin tin.

Sprinkle the crumb topping evenly on the muffins.  I used just under 1 tbsp per muffin.

Bake for 20 minutes @ 375 degrees.

Check out these beauties:

Are you thinking what I’m thinking?  Good! I just love it when we’re on the same page.  Makes me feel whole, complete, and at peace with the world.

Go make these for someone you love, or for someone you want to love you.  Now, if you’ll excuse me, I hear a muffin calling my name…

2 responses to “Banana Muffins

  1. cake for breakfast can be a very good thing…under the right circumstances with the right cup of coffee. If you get your bad calories in the morning you have all day to burn them off…there`s some flawed rational for you!

    Damn you and your healthy muffins…I will take a dozen, you know where to find me 🙂 !

  2. Pingback: Hey Mom – look what I can do! « Modern Day Martha

Leave a Reply

