DIY Update

Alright, I have a confession to make – not everything I ever make (or try to make) works out perfectly.  Some of you have asked me (both via email and in person) about the little experiment I blogged about a few days ago.  I was TRYING to make sour cream, but sadly it didn’t work.  When I checked on it 24-hours later, it hadn’t thickened properly.  I put it in the fridge in hopes that it would help it set, but apparently my homemade sour cream was not made to be.  Unfortunately, I cannot call this “rustic” and get away with it as I normally would if something doesn’t turn out perfectly.

My hypothesis is that it’s because I used heavy cream, milk, and vinegar instead of heavy cream and buttermilk.  Oh well! Twas an interesting experiment and one that I will be trying in the future when I have a surplus of dairy products in my fridge.

So, now that that’s out of the way, what shall we try next?

Leave a Reply

