Kale Chips

Have I got an idea for you! I’ve heard murmurings of kale chips for months and months now, but have never made them.  If I want chips, I (usually) eat chips. If I want greens, I eat greens (spinach smoothie, anyone?).  Plain and simple, right?  Well the lines are now more blurred because I’m not sure what these are, but in any event I can classify these as delicious.  Eating your greens AND satisfying your craving for something crunchy and salty? Oh yes, these kale chips are a good thing.

Cast of characters:

Kale, olive oil, salt, and pepper if you feel like living on the edge.

Cut the centre ribs out of each kale leaf…

…and then chop it into even-sized pieces. If that seems like its too much work for you (and let’s be honest, if we’re making something that’s comparable to chips we don’t necessarily want to work harder than we have to), you can sometimes buy kale that’s been washed and chopped at the grocery store.

Place the kale into your salad spinner to rinse:

Dry the kale well, and then drizzle with olive oil (I used about a tablespoon) and sprinkle with salt (and pepper, if using).

Spread the kale evenly on a cookie sheet:

Bake for 20 mins @ 300 degrees.

Behold, kale chips!!!

Let me tell you, I am IMPRESSED.  These are crispy, salty, addictive, and something you would want to eat because they taste amazing, not because they are full of nutrients and antioxidants.  Please don’t wait as long as I did to make them!

2 responses to “Kale Chips

  1. if I can find kale today (for a different recipe), I’m going to try this with the remainder!

Leave a Reply

