Eggnog Scones

Do you ever open up your fridge and find something that you had completely forgotten about? Tonight I did just that.  While puttering around the kitchen and looking for inspiration, I found a bottle of eggnog in my fridge.  It had rolled to the back of the drawer that keeps things way to cold/semi-frozen, which would explain why I had forgotten about it…ok, and the fact that I almost never drink eggnog yet bought some for some weird reason would also contribute to my forgetfulness.  I checked the expiration date (April 20) and tasted it (two thumbs up), so I figured why not allow it to live out its last days in culinary heaven?

So, then to decide what to make: I figured if you could make scones with heavy cream, then eggnog should work just as well, shouldn’t it?  Who cares if it’s not exactly seasonal; let’s find out what happens together!

Go ahead and round up the following:

Flour, baking powder, sugar, salt, butter, and eggnog.

Weigh yourself 10 oz of AP flour:

Pour the flour into your food processor, then add 1 TBSP of baking powder, 3 TBSP of sugar, and 1/2 tsp of salt. Pulse the food processor a few times to get things all mixed up.

Let’s talk about butter.  When making scones, it has to be cold so if you make these don’t use the stuff that’s been on your counter for the last few days, please and thank you. Measure out 5 TBSP on the most springy cutting board you own…

And then cut it into cubes.

Scatter the butter over the flour in the food processor.  Do you ever tell yourself weird things while you’re cooking? I sometimes do…so for example, I correlated my ability to evenly distribute butter to my potential for success in life.  Nevermind.

Pulse the (evenly scattered) butter and flour mixture for about 12 seconds, or until it resembles coarse meal. If some lumps of butter are larger than others, that is absolutely ok. In fact, 3 out of 4 (wannabe) Martha’s would recommend that.

Ok, so let’s talk about the food processor for a minute.  The reason I like using a food processor when making scones, biscuits, or pastry is because it’s virtually foolproof – sometimes when you use your hands the butter can soften too quickly.  If you don’t have a food processor, just use a pastry blender or 2 knives and you should be just fine.

Dump the contents of the food processor into a bowl:

Measure out 1 c of eggnog:

And let’s make some magic happen already!!!

(P.S. Wanna know a secret? If by some weird chance you don’t have eggnog in your fridge in mid-April, then use an equal amount of heavy cream and you’ll be just fine.)

Stir gently until it begins to form…30 seconds should be plenty of time. At this point in the scone-making process, I figured that plain scones may be delicious but they are also predictable and – dare I say it? – boring.  Since these babies have eggnog in them, I figured that crystallized ginger would be a natural pairing. Had I thought ahead, I would have just whizzed the ginger in the same food processor that I pulsed the flour and butter in.  Go figure, that one was already in the sink and filled with water so its understudy was called into action.

Et voila! It’s practically magic, don’t you think?

Why stop with just ginger, though?

Ahh, yes – dried cranberries and white chocolate.  Life is good.

Now, if I had planned to add these delightful things ahead of time I probably would have added them to the flour/butter mixture and pulsed to mix everything up properly.  Ah well, live and learn.  And eat. I think I’m going to have that made into a t-shirt.

Dump the whole bowl (yup, even those last bits of flour bits that haven’t been incorporated yet!) onto your counter and knead the dough until it comes together.

Shape the dough into a round disc, or a square-ish shape if you’re feeling adventurous like me.

Cut the dough into 8 wedges…

And then arrange them artfully on a cookie sheet.

I felt like glazing the scones, so I did.  With eggnog.  And sugar.  I wished I had some raw sugar, but alas, none was to be found (in my kitchen anyways).  Now that I’m typing this up, I just remembered that I have some raw cinnamon sugar kicking around somewhere.  Looks like I’ll have to make another batch so it doesn’t feel left out!

Bake the scones for about 14 minutes @ 425 degrees, or until the scone tops are light brown. Or until you get impatient and decide that they need to come out of the oven NOW.

Allow the scones to cool on a wire rack for about 10 minutes.

Oh – hello gorgeous!

Now, I’m no expert but I’d say that these scones turned out pretty darn good!  Eggnog scones in the middle of April? It’s a good thing.

One response to “Eggnog Scones

  1. Pingback: Strawberry And White Chocolate Stuffed Eggnog French Toast | Modern Day Martha

Leave a Reply

