Balsamic Glazed Salmon

Last year my naturopath suggested I start taking fish oil supplements.  I’ve been gagging them down faithfully for the past year, but recently have decided to just incorporate more fish into my diet instead since it tastes WAY better.  With this in mind, I set out to glaze some salmon filets tonight and since they turned out so well I thought I’d share them with all of you.  Ready?

The goods:

Salmon, an orange, balsamic vinegar, honey, red pepper flakes, and rosemary.

Start by juicing half of a large orange, or a whole small one.  Or go ahead and use the bottled stuff that’s in your fridge; I don’t care.

Put the juice in a bowl – I think 1/4 c or so should be sufficient. Don’t worry about the pulp; it’s what makes the world go round.

Add about the same amount of balsamic vinegar to the OJ – I used the everyday stuff since I was going to reduce the whole thing down. Save the 40-yr aged balsamic for another time, my friends!

Throw in a whole sprig of rosemary too, just because you can. And because I said so.

And last, but certainly not least, a good pinch of red pepper flakes and about 2 TBSP of honey need to join the party.

Set the glaze aside while we make some magic happen with the salmon.

For the love of good fish everywhere, PLEASE be mindful of where you purchase your fish from. It makes a huge difference in the taste, and of course, sustainability. Whenever possible, I avoid purchasing fish at the grocery store and instead visit my local fishmonger.  I’ll get off my soapbox now, but you know you’ll hear my voice haunting you next time you even so much as think about buying fish at the grocery store.

Alright, enough preaching – Let’s take a look at the piece of salmon I was working with:

Hmm.  I wasn’t crazy about the uneven shape and thickness, so I trimmed the filet and cut it into 2 adult sized and one child sized portion instead. I suggest you do the same.

While you’re heating a pan with a little bit of oil over medium-high heat, season the fish with salt and pepper.

Is the pan hot enough yet? When it is, lay the fish (skin-side up, if it has skin) in the hot pan.  I suggest turning the fan on, unless you enjoy taking periodic cooking breaks to fan the smoke away from the smoke detector. Don’t say I didn’t warn you!

After about 4-5 minutes, flip the fish over.  Look at the beautiful golden crust that’s developed!

Let the fish cook for another 2-3 minutes, and then remove it from the heat and onto a plate.  Nothing is worse than overcooked fish, so we actually want it to be the slightest bit raw in the very middle. We’re going to tent it with foil while we make the glaze, and it’s going to be perfect by the time the glaze is done.  At least, I hope it is – I’ve never made this before so results are not yet guaranteed.

Wipe out the pan you used to cook the fish with a paper towel, and then pour the glaze mixture into it.  Let it boil for about 5 minutes or until it gets all thick and syrupy.

Take the rosemary out; it’s job is done and it’s time to say farwell.  Now, this may come as a shock to some of you but since I have a serious need for approval from Paula Deen, I thought I should add a smidgen of butter to the glaze to finish it off. Hey, at least I’m honest and took a picture!

Way better.

Are you ready for dinner yet? Let’s plate it up!

The fish is perfectly cooked, if I dare say so myself.  Balsamic glazed salmon sure is a good thing, but a good thing only becomes great when you act on it so please make some for yourself sooner rather than later!

Leave a Reply

