Yogurt Cheese

Sometimes, I do weird things.  Alright, it’s more like often but really, who’s counting (please don’t raise your hands).  Whether its going to heroic lengths to save a $0.59 bunch of cilantro or buying 2 kg of plain yogurt just because I lose all of my rational decision making ability when in Costco, I am sometimes left with more than I can chew…literally.  As a result, amongst my other impulse purchases I’ve had 1.5 tubs of plain yogurt staring pathetically at me every single time I open up my fridge for the past few weeks.  I can only have so many smoothies before getting completely bored, and besides, I am always on the lookout to try something new.

Which brings me to…yogurt cheese! I was going to make a cake with the yogurt, but then I quickly remembered that I need a cake like I need more shoes.  Wait – I DO need more shoes so I guess that was a bad analogy.  Whatever – you get the point.  I’ve known about yogurt cheese for years, but have never actually made it so I figured now was as good of a time as any to give it a whirl.

It’s super easy – here’s what you do:

Put a strainer over a bowl, and line it with cheesecloth:

Dump the yogurt into the bowl:

Cover and refrigerate for 12-24 hours, or until the whey has all drained from the yogurt.

Are you ready for the big reveal?

Once mixed up a bit:

Hmmm…interesting.  Would you like my thoughts on this? Here they are, in no particular order:

– Yogurt cheese is supposed to have the consistency of spreadable cream cheese; mine was more like sour cream after 24 hrs of draining. Fine for a dip, but not for putting on a bagel. False advertising?

– I was surprised at how tart it was – likely because I used fat-free yogurt.  I mixed some salt in and that helped some, but I will have to doctor it up more before its edible.

– This was easy but for the real estate it took up in the fridge, I would probably just buy Greek yogurt or sour cream to make a dip in the future.

Oh well! Twas a fun experiment while it lasted 🙂

What shall we try next?

4 responses to “Yogurt Cheese

  1. Great points! I will be checking back here often!

  2. I make yoghurt cheese all the time, in order to get the consistency you want like spreadable cream cheese you must use 5% plain yoghurt. Do not use stirred or it will not come out right. You will notice in the bottom of the bowl after 24 hours a fair amount of liquid this is the weigh.

  3. At it’s current consistency you could make tzatziki.

Leave a Reply

