Apple Galette

I don’t know about you, but there are just some days where dessert is non-negotiable.  Being hungry is not the issue; dessert simply needs to be eaten irregardless of the degree of fullness that exists. In an ideal world I would have an unlimited amount of time and an unlimited pantry to pull inspiration from – ok, and a personal pastry chef to cater to my every whim and fancy – but let’s be realistic for just a moment: time is money, and my “pantry” right now consists of a heap of plastic bags and Tupperware containers filled with odds and ends.  What’s a girl to do, then, when the craving strikes but resources are limited?

Make an apple galette, obviously!

I know all of you faithful (or brainwashed) bloggies will remember that a while ago we made pastry, but I have a very sad announcement to make: my favourite kitchen appliance, my trusty food processor, suffered a terrible accident whereby it fell onto the cement floor one fateful day.  I haven’t been brave enough to see if I can get it to work again, for fear of having to send it to appliance heaven forever.  My heart can’t handle it.  Thankfully, TenderFlake puff pastry offered to fill the void for the low investment of $3.99.

We should move on, before I start to cry.  It wouldn’t be pretty, and I wouldn’t want you to feel uncomfortable.

However, if you feel moved enough to buy me a new food processor as a way of demonstrating your undying love and affection, I will make you pastry for the rest of your life.

Moving on:

Core and slice up some apples – I used granny smith’s because I wanted something a little more tart, but you can use whatever you have.  I suppose I could have peeled the apples, but really, why is that necessary? I thought the green peel would look beautiful, but besides that, why should I waste more time getting dessert on the table by peeling an apple?  Get real; I take the dessert dilemma very seriously – just ask my hips; they are under strict oath to not lie to you.

Sprinkle the apple slices with cinnamon, and toss with brown sugar, the juice of half a lemon, and a pinch of salt. Please don’t get all technical on me and ask how much cinnamon or sugar to use – just do whatever feels good to you.  Don’t skimp, but don’t go overboard.

Sample a few slices, for quality control purposes.

Unwrap the puff pastry.  Mine was frozen, and broken, so my galette’s had to become rather rustic and free-form.  If you are more patient than me (which is naturally very hard to believe) you could either defrost your pastry in the fridge overnight, or on the counter for a few hours.

Since I was not going to be working with rectangular pieces of pastry, I decided to cut each block in half and roll them out instead. No need to make them perfect – that’s boring and predictable, and gives the impression of being store-bought.  “Rustic” is the new buzzword in the food industry, and I like it.  It gives me permission to not be exact and to be messy.

Can I get an amen???

I don’t think I’ve ever disclosed this on the blog before, but I have a weird quirk whereby when cutting or arranging things, I’ll do it different every time.  For example,when arranging the apples on top of the pastry, I didn’t repeat the same method twice.  Life’s too short to arrange your apples identically. What do you think this says about my personality?

Thanks for listening; I feel cleansed.

I also feel hungry, so let’s bake these babies!!!

Now, if it was up to me I would have just picked up the galette and eaten it straight up.  However, that would not have made a very pretty picture for the blog, and so I took one for the team and garnished.  With whipped cream.  It’s a tough job, but somebody has to do it.

Well, that hit the spot! Quick apple galette is a good thing alright.

One response to “Apple Galette

  1. Your Apple Galette looks wonderful! I’ve got a food processor you can have if you want it. Let me know, I’ll bring it to work 🙂

Leave a Reply

