Clean-out-the-Pantry Cookies

I don’t know about you, but I love holidays.  I like that they’re an excuse to get together with friends and family, I like that no one feels guilty about lingering for hours over an indulgent meal, and I like that people are usually happy (probably due to the time off work).  What I don’t like, however, is that there can be months that pass between holiday celebrations.  I thought it was time for a new holiday – one where people stop what they’re doing and take a moment to pause, one where people are reminded of the simple pleasures in life, and one where people can do something they enjoy.

And one where people eat cookies, because cookies are delicious and should be eaten regularly for maximum enjoyment in life.

All in favour of Cookie Friday’s please raise your hand!

(Do you have your hand up yet? We’re on the honour system here but you better!)

Good! Now that we have a unanimous vote we can proceed with the festivities.

For our first Cookie Friday, I was originally going to try to re-create those decadent little over-priced morsels that are sold by 6 year olds all across Canada (aka Chocolate-Mint Girl Guide Cookies aka the reason I can’t live sugar-free).  However, when I opened up the pantry doors and saw several bags of nuts I was more inspired to do something using them…and so I did.

I’m not sorry.  They were delicious.

Allow me to introduce you to our guests du jour:

AP flour, spelt flour, baking powder, salt, butter, brown sugar, white sugar, maple syrup, maple extract, eggs, almonds, pecans, walnuts, oats, craisins, pumpkin seeds, chocolate chips.

Time to get the party started!

Since it’s a holiday and all, I thought we would give our tired overworked and underpaid biceps a break and use the food processor and mixer.

Alright, it’s not JUST because it’s a holiday – it’s because I don’t want my appliances to feel like I love my knives and spoons more than them.

I can assure you that it has nothing to do with the fact that I’m lazy, and everything to do with the fact that I’m an equal-opportunity chef.  It’s preparing me for parenting.

(Please note – this does NOT mean you can ask me when I’m going to have kids)

Measure out about 1/3 c of almonds for the cookies…

…and another 10 for your mouth. Ten almonds a day keep the doctors away.

If you believe in quality control, please raise your hand.

Good – I just love it when we’re on the same page.

Pulse the almonds until they’re finely ground, but not so much that they turn into almond butter.  That’s another project for another day, folks.

Add the ground almonds to a bowl along with the rest of the dry ingredients:

You’re looking at 1/2 c of AP flour, 1/2 c + 1/3c of spelt flour, 1 t baking powder, 1/2 t salt.

I’m loving the spelt flour these days.  If you haven’t tried it yet you should. It is MDM approved and endorsed.

I have a confession to make: I have no idea how much 1/2 c + 1/3 c is.  I used 2 measuring cups.  Then I remembered why I like using a scale when I bake.

Don’t believe me?

1/2c + 1/3c = 5/6c

Then I got out my calculator.

Since 1c = 16T, I used approximately 13.3333 T of spelt flour.

13.3333T = 3/4 c + 1T + 1t

Are you as confused as I am?!?!

Good. Now you understand why I just used 2 measuring cups.

If you are unable to suck it up and just use 2 separate measuring cups, just buy a scale.  It’ll keep people that come to your kitchen guessing, especially if you leave some strategically-placed white powder nearby.

Moving on…I’ve had enough mental gymnastics for one day.

Since the food processor is already out, I figured I’d just add the other nuts to it.  I do enough dishes as it is, so why dirty a knife and cutting board if I don’t have to?!?!

I just heard you say amen.  No need to be shy; virtual or not we’re all friends here.

Pulse 1/2 c each of walnuts and pecans a few times until they’re a size you can live with.

Then toast em up.

Nuts taste better toasted.

It’s been scientifically proven.

Just don’t walk away or they’ll burn. Thou shalt not neglect the nuts.

That has also been scientifically proven…but not by me, obviously.

I’m way too responsible and attentive to do something like that.

While the nuts are doing their things, cream 1 c of softened butter.

Next, add the good stuff.

1 c of white sugar, 1 c of brown sugar, 2T of pure maple syrup, and 2 (ish) t of maple extract.  I know this drives some of you nuts, but I didn’t measure. I just splashed in what was left in the bottle.  These are called “clean-out-the-pantry” cookies for a reason, you know.

After getting to know each other, here’s what happened:

Get a spoon and dig in, kids!

Just kidding.  You didn’t think I was serious, did you?

Add 2 eggs, and beat again.

Now, I know that some of you are recoiling in horror that I didn’t add the eggs one at a time, and beat after each one.

I am living proof that no one was harmed through my lack of attention in making these cookies.

I hereby give you permission to live on the edge and add both eggs at once, if that’s what makes your skirt fly up.

So close, I can almost taste these babies!

Oh wait, I did.

You should too, since quality control is of the utmost importance when baking cookies.

Introduce the dry ingredients to the butter and sugar mixture, along with 3 c of rolled oats.

All together now!

Now technically we could stop now and have oatmeal cookies…

But why?

It’s time for the (lightly toasted) nuts, 1/2 c each of pumpkin seeds and craisins to crash the party, along with 1c of chocolate chips.

Mix everything up and scoop onto a parchment-lined cookie sheet:

And bake at 350-degrees for 17 minutes.

Et voila!

Up close and personal:

Yummmmm……

Have I mentioned yet that I love holidays? I suggest you embrace this one too; your life (or hips) will never be the same.

Happy Cookie Friday everyone! Please celebrate responsibly 🙂

3 responses to “Clean-out-the-Pantry Cookies

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Spice Whoopie Pies « Modern Day Martha

  2. Pingback: Strawberry And White Chocolate Stuffed Eggnog French Toast | Modern Day Martha

  3. Pingback: Cookies Without A Name | Modern Day Martha

Leave a Reply

