Pumpkin Spice Whoopie Pies

Have I told you about my cousin Michael yet? No? Well, we must remedy this situation immediately!

Michael and I go way back…you know, 27 years or so.  Aside from being only 8 months apart in age, we spent a lot of time together growing up. Whether it was running away from home exploring the feed mill behind his house, jumping off mattresses that were stacked way too high, or going to see Little Rascals in the theatre we always had fun.  In fact, the summer we were 11 Michael and I baby-sat for a family so he could have hardwood floors installed in his room.

Yes, I’m being serious.

Yes, it made total sense at the time.

Why, what were YOU doing when you were 11?!?!

I think that was also the summer that we pored over Martha Stewart Living…the one with the fruit popsicles on the cover.  I don’t think we ever made the popsicles…I seem to remember us being very confused by what type of cream to buy for them.  This was before the days of AllRecipes.com and Google, you see.

Gosh, I sound old, don’t I?

Let’s move on.

Anyways, Michael and I soon graduated from just reading MSL to branching off into our respective areas of interest: Michael is now a style editor at House & Home magazine, and continues to impress and inspire people with his savvy design skills.  As for me…well, ya’ll know enough about me so I’ll save your eyes from reading more.

Anyways…to make a long story short, Michael emailed me several months asked me if I would like to submit any recipes for his magazine’s special Christmas issue.  I told him thanks but no thanks, I was too busy.  Or maybe I didn’t even respond – it was that long ago that I can’t even remember.

However…Michael is persistent. He emailed again, and suggested that if I didn’t want to submit anything perhaps my mother would.  Since we all know my mother checks her email once every 4 months, I knew that if I didn’t email him back with a recipe attached Michael wouldn’t have any recipes to include in the family and friends special.  I couldn’t bear the thought, so I quickly attached a recipe for some pumpkin cookies I make every year and that was the end of that.

Problem solved. He stopped emailing.

New problem – I never heard from my favourite cousin.

Fast forward a few months…I got ANOTHER email from Michael saying that it looked like the cookies made the cut! Of course, anything could change before the magazine actually goes to print but I guess all of that finger-crossing worked because sure enough, they were included in the November 2010 issue (on newsstands NOW!!!).

For those of you who are wondering, I can be found at Chapters every Wednesday night from 7 – 9:30 if you’d like your copy signed.  Please don’t be shy – I’ll be the brunette with the latte at Starbucks right next to the magazine section.

Please celebrate Cookie Friday by making these cookies.  I bet you have everything you need already.  Besides, they’re delicious. I promise.

If you disagree, please bring your cookies to my house for disposal.

Thank you for your cooperation.

Butter, sugar, eggs, vanilla, flour, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, baking powder, baking soda, salt, canned pumpkin, icing sugar, pumpkin pie spice, and (gasp!) shortening.

These babies are super easy to throw together at a moments notice.

First, either whisk or sift together the following dry ingredients:

  • 2 ½ c. flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. nutmeg
  • ½ tsp. cloves
  • ½ tsp. ginger
  • ½ tsp. salt

Now that that’s out of the way, cream together 1 c butter + 1.5 c sugar.

Did anyone else just feel their jeans get tighter?

Add 1.25 c canned pure pumpkin, 1 egg, and 1 t of vanilla to the butter/sugar mixture.

Oooh la la!

Add the dry ingredients back in, and mix gently until everything has gotten acquainted.

Scoop the dough out onto parchment-lined baking sheets:

In the spirit of total honesty and disclosure, I must tell you that this is where I deviated from my own recipe.  You see, most of the time when I make these cookies, I bake them off just like this and then dip them in a maple glaze.  In fact, if you pick up a copy of the magazine that’s what you’ll find.  Or, I throw a few handfuls of chocolate chips in the batter, depending on the day.  However, when Michael emailed me the proof version of the recipe before it was published the food editor had taken upon herself to alter the recipe by telling the readers to slightly flatten each cookie before baking.

Naturally, I wrote Michael back and told him that no, the cookies were in fact designed to be puffy and cake-like and there was no need to flatten them.

Then what did I do? I decided to make whoopie pies so naturally, I had to slightly flatten each cookie by dipping the bottom of a water glass into water and gently pressing down.

I know, I’m so difficult sometimes.

After 9 minutes at 350-degrees…

Instead of glazing the cookies, I decided to try my hand at a spiced buttercream to sandwich in-between.  Variety IS the spice of life, after all.

Sift together 2 c of icing sugar (or powdered sugar, for all of you American’s out there) with about 2t of pumpkin pie spice.

Please make a royal mess on your counters and floors with your overzealous sifting, and then set the whole bowl aside while you gather your thoughts and pad your hips.

Cream together 1/4 c each of butter and shortening, along with a splash of vanilla for good measure.

I’m sorry, arteries.  Please don’t quit on me before I’m 30.

Gradually add the icing sugar to the creamed mixture, adding a few tablespoons of water along the way until you reach a spreadable consistency.

And now, the REAL fun begins!

Flip the cookies upside down and pipe on a dollop of buttercream onto every other cookie.

Little sandwiches!

These cookies have been brought to you by Casper, the friendly yet pasty ghost.

Dust with icing/powdered sugar if you feel so inclined…

I did, because the sieve was already dirty.

I’m practical like that.

Enjoy my loves!

I know I sure did 🙂

14 responses to “Pumpkin Spice Whoopie Pies

  1. Hi,

    I like this recipe except I’d opt for cream cheese icing instead of butter cream…just me.

    😀

  2. Ha,ha, that’s awesome Jaclyn! Congratulations! You’re cookies look wonderful btw.

  3. Thanks Shelley! They’re great…next time I make a batch I’ll bring some over for you to try!

  4. I can’t believe your cookies are going to in a magazine!! Will your name be in there too?

  5. I made these from the magazine – after I realized that you really meant these were “YOUR” cookies and saw your name in the article. I made them first with the maple glaze – YUMMY. Then decided to be a rebel and substitute cream cheese cookie icing (homemade)…they were to die for! Which is appropriate ’cause I made them for Halloween parties for the kids. 🙂

  6. You are amazing! I love the way you present your recipes. You make following them so easy, even I can follow pictures.

    I just perused your pumpkin cookies. OMG! I MUST make and eat many, many of them! They just look sooo yummy. Forget using cream cheese as filler! I want BUTTER ICING! I am babysitting the two older grandkids this coming weekend. I’m thinking they might get a kick out of making them with me. I may even let them eat some.

    Your blog is fun. Took me awhile to figure out how to leave a comment … finally figured it out. Can you see why I have trouble following a recipe now?

    Just to let you know … Tom and I are available for dinner most any night.

    Shae

  7. Dear Martha:

    I think you’ve created a monster! Since I read your cookie recipe I have been lurking on House & Home. I have been madly perusing the appetizer recipes … thinking of Christmas and what I can do to impress the heck out of Tom’s 3 darling sisters at our annual-pre-Christmas-dinner-with-Tom-and-Shae. They are all fabulous cooks and I am NOT so fabulous. I’ve printed out four appealing recipes for appies. I am sooo much better at being a guest and “bringing a dish.” I am quite capable of producing one really good dish of something. It’s putting together the whole dinner party that takes years off my life. What I was born to have is a personal chef. Of that there is no doubt in my mind. I can do everything to get ready to entertain … if only I didn’t have to feed them!

    Shae

  8. Hey!
    I remember eating those. I voted for them too! They were goooood. I like your blog. Me and my sister started our own.

  9. Not as interesting as yours though!

Leave a Reply

