Peanut Butter Cookies

When I was younger, it didn’t take much for my Dad to convince my Mom to whip up a batch of peanut butter cookies – they were one of his favourites, and she was always happy to oblige. I always thought she was crazy – all it took was a mere mention a slight hankering for them, and 15 minutes later she’d have a fresh batch coming out of the oven.

Goodness me, I miss living at their house sometimes. You would too if you tried my Mom’s baking.

As a sidenote, it is purely coincidental that I live in elastic-waist yoga pants while at their house.  Their dryer seems to shrink jeans, so what choice do I have?!?! Bizarre, I know.

Unfortunately, since I live exactly 2733.14 miles away from my parents, I don’t have the luxury of having my Mom bake me cookies whenever I feel like them.  Thankfully, she agreed to write out some of her closely guarded  family favourites with the understanding that we wouldn’t give away her trade secrets under any conditions.

Oops.

Anyways, Mom’s cookies are delicious, but I wanted to modernize them a bit since it’s no longer 1987 and since it’s just what I do.

Sorry Mom, nothing personal! Please don’t go on strike anytime soon.

So here ya go – from Momma C’s kitchen to mine to yours – bon appetit my loves!

The cast of characters:

Butter, Peanut Butter, Brown Sugar, White Sugar, Vanilla, Egg, Barley Flour, Quinoa Flour, Baking Powder, Baking Soda, Salt, Dark Chocolate Chips, Fleur de Sel.

Sift or whisk the dry ingredients together:

You’re looking at ½ c barley flour, ¾ c quinoa flour, ½ t baking powder, ¾ t baking soda, and ¼ t salt.

Let’s talk about different flours for a moment, shall we? I grew up with (as most of us did) with good ol’ all-purpose flour with the occasional sprinkling of whole-wheat.  I still use AP flour, but like to experiment with different options that aren’t as heavily refined and processed, and that have higher nutritional value.  I chose quinoa and barley flours for these cookies because both have stronger flavours that the PB could stand up to.  In other words, if you had “eat less wheat” on your New Years Resolutions list, you should make these cookies. They are basically health food.

In case you hadn’t noticed by now, I can justify anything.  I’m thinking about becoming a lawyer when I grow up.

In a separate bowl, cream together the following:

That would be ½ c butter, ½ c all-natural PB* (I like crunchy), ½ c brown sugar, ½ c white sugar, and 1 tsp vanilla extract.

*Yes, you can use regular PB if that’s what you have, I just typically prefer to drink my hydrogenated oils in the form of French Vanilla Coffee Creamer instead of eating them in my PB.

When everything has gotten acquainted, add an egg…

And then the dry ingredients.

Stir everything together, and then add 1/2 c chocolate chips/chunks.  I used dark, but milk would also be good.

My Mom never added chocolate to her cookies, much to my chagrin.  However, one cannot go wrong with peanut butter and chocolate.  This I know for sure.

Stir the dough to incorporate the chocolate, and then roll into balls and place on a cookie sheet.

Use the tines of a fork or the bottom of a potato masher to flatten the cookies slightly.  This is KEY to successful peanut butter cookies.

But wait!

You all know how much I love swalty things, so before I flattened the cookies I sprinkled some fleur de sel on top of each one.

After 7 minutes @ 375-degrees, cookies were born!

Let the cookies cool on the cookie sheet for a few minutes to set a little more, and then transfer to a cooling rack.

Or eat directly off the cookie sheet; I won’t judge.

In fact, I might even join you…if I can find my yoga pants that is.

 

4 responses to “Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. ohhhh you’re killin me….where do you buy the alternative flours? Have you heard of nut flour? It sounds protein rich and really yummy, but I can’t find any….

  2. Sorry Melissa, just focus on the brownies that you’ll get to eat soon enough! I’ll try to post on something diabetic-friendly soon…if I can find my camera charger that is.

    I have all different types of flours in my fridge right now…spelt, quinoa, oat, coconut, sorghum, brown rice, white rice, tapioca, potato…and probably a few others that I can’t think of off the top of my head. I also made up my own gluten-free blend a few months ago, so that’s in there too. They’re all from different places – some are from gourmet food stores, some are from a bulk foods store in Ontario (bought over Christmas), some are from organic grocery stores, and some are from the regular grocery store.

    The only nut “flour” I’ve used is almond meal, which is really just super-finely ground almonds that are dehydrated so it gets powdery. I’ve used it in a few things and have enjoyed it, but have never subbed it 100% for AP flour. What are you thinking of making with it?

  3. my friend posted a recipe for nut flour cookies that looked ama-ha-zing, but I couldn’t have any til after baby is born b/c they still have sugar in them, and chocolate!!
    Diabetes friendly recipes always welcome….good luck tho, most of its gross….

  4. Can you have any sugar at all? What about Splenda? Or stevia?

    A few months ago I accepted a challenge to make a GF sandwich bread, so surely a delicious, diabetic-friendly cookie cannot be any more difficult than that. I will see what I can come up with 🙂

Leave a Reply

