Butternut Squash, Pear, and Caramelized Onion Pizza

Do you ever find yourself trapped in the same rut when it comes to certain foods? Butternut squash is one of those things for me.  I’ll typically pick one up, come home, and make soup a few days later.  Exciting stuff, no?

Change can be good, though.  So when I stood at one of my favourite markets this evening contemplating what to make for dinner, and then caught a glimpse of a butternut squash out of the corner of my eye that could be (and would be) all mine for the low investment of $1.36, I knew what had to be done.

Yes, the squash had to come home with me, but it couldn’t be made into soup.  What then, should I make?

Well you see, the decision was actually rather easy.  Don’t ask me why, but there seems to be something about the end of the week that just screams “pizza”.  It also screams “spa” and “tropical vacation”, but I’m going to try to stay focused on pizza for your sake.

As you may recall, I have a love/hate relationship with pizza.  I don’t make it often, but then every time that I DO make it I wonder why I don’t make it more frequently since I always like it.  I know what you’re thinking – butternut squash on pizza? Have you lost your mind?!?!

Perhaps.  But if I keep making food this easy and tasty, I never want to find it.

Besides, some of us (who shall remain nameless) might be suffering from a sugar overload.  And also, it beats soup.

For tonight anyways.  I reserve the right to change my mind often and without warning.

Butternut squash, pear, red onion, garlic, brie cheese, puff pastry, sweet & spicy BBQ-type sauce.

Before we get started, it has come to my attention that some of you are frustrated with my lack of specificity with certain dishes.  I’m sorry in advance, but there is no real “recipe” for this.  In fact, part of the reason I tend to share more sweet things instead of savory is that 99% of the time I just grab whatever looks good that day and make something without measuring or weighing, but at least with baking I can give you a firmer idea of how to follow along.  I want you to feel more comfortable just trusting your intuition, so if you’re a strict recipe follower, please give this pizza a try – it’s pretty much impossible to mess up and you might even surprise yourself with how good of a cook you are!

To get things started, peel, slice, and seed the squash.

Cut it into cubes, toss with olive oil, and season with salt and pepper.

Yes, this is way more than enough squash for one pizza but I figured I might as well roast it all up – I can figure out what to do with the leftovers tomorrow.

Roast the squash for about 25 minutes at 400-degrees, or until it’s tender and starting to caramelize.

Speaking of caramelization, time to slice the onion!

Slice it rather thin, and then get it going in a pan with a pat of butter, a sprinkling of sugar if you wish, and some salt. Oh, and a clove or two of garlic never hurt anyone!

Low and slow is the name of this game….let the onions do their thing over a low flame for the 20 minutes or so that the squash is roasting.

I usually add a pear to my butternut squash soup, so I figured I might as well throw some on the pizza as well.  Slice it up…and snack on about half of it if you’re hungry.

Now, for the cheese…I used brie cheese because that’s what I had in the fridge, but other kinds of cheese would surely be delightful.  Fontina? Bleu? Asiago? Yes please!

I’m pretty sure you can’t go wrong with cheese.

Except if you put Velveeta on this. Or spray cheese from a can.  Both would be indications that a serious intervention was needed.

Let’s talk about the pizza crust for just a minute. I am on a mission to thin out my freezer, so instead of making pizza dough I just thawed a piece of puff pastry while the squash was roasting.  After being pricked with a fork several times, it was ready to go into the oven – no flour on the floor required.

MAJOR bonus points if you don’t get flour on the floor while making dough.  My housecleaner will be so pleased with me.

Bake the crush for 10 minutes at 400 degrees, or until it is a light golden brown.

Meanwhile, check out the squash!

Is that gorgeous or is that gorgeous?!?!

Gorgeous AND delicious.  I’m pretty sure I ate a good third of it while standing at the oven, waiting for the puff pastry to bake.  So much for leftovers.

I knew this pizza would be pretty sweet with the squash, pears, and caramelized onions, so I wanted to add a bit of heat.  I scrounged around in my fridge, and this is what I came up with:

Cowgirl sweet & hot finishing glaze.  Don’t ask me where I got it, but it was really good.  Something chipotle-esque would also be yummy.

Toss some squash with the sauce – enough to give it a thin coating – and set it aside.

After 10 minutes, remove the pastry from the oven…

Spread the carmelized onions on first…

Then make a pretty design with the pair slices next…

Don’t forget the roasted squash!

And last but not least, the cheese.

Le sigh.

Cheese makes everything better, don’t you think?

After another 5 minutes in the oven…

Let it cool for a few minutes, then cut into slices and serve.

You don’t have to share if you don’t want to, though.

When your better half and gets home and asks what smells so good/what’s for dinner, smile sweetly and say “pizza” while producing a cardboard disc frozen one from the oven.  Hoard the (hypothetical) leftovers in the fridge in an opaque container marked “liver and onions” or something equally unappealing to him or her.

Conversely, if you want to impress your significant other/neighbour/arch nemesis just casually mention that you whipped up a little something for dinner, and then set a slice in front of them. Make up a faux French name for this, use your hands to gesture a lot, and insist that really, there was nothing to it.  They’ll fall in love with you all over again, I promise.

Either way, your secret is safe with me.

Until we meet again…

Jaclyn

P.S. You have my permission to add bacon if you’d like.

P.P.S. If you make this and add bacon, can you please invite me to your house for dinner? Pretty please?

4 responses to “Butternut Squash, Pear, and Caramelized Onion Pizza

  1. Oh my goodness..I should have come for dinner. This could be my new favorite thing. With bacon.

  2. Jaclyn, this sounds and looks fantastic!! I don’t think I’d have any leftovers. Do you think blue cheese would be too strong? I really enjoy blue with pear.
    All of the ingred. would also be great in a salad…mmmm(minus the pastry)
    Keep cookin’,
    Christine

    • I think blue cheese would be great! Why don’t you give it a try and let me know how it turns out?

      I love the idea of putting everything in a salad. In fact, if I had had any greens in the fridge, I would have tossed a handful with a vinegrette and put them on top…next time!

      Love ya!

Leave a Reply

