(Spicy) Baby Bok Choy

I am a firm believer that our bodies will tell us what they need.  Yesterday, mine was screaming for me to eat something green, so I listened.

In the spirit of transparency, it should also be noted that it often screams for chocolate.   I usually listen, however, even I need a good detox from sugar every now and then.

So, in the spirit of obedience, I picked up some lovely baby bok choy at the market, brought it home, and in less than 10 minutes had dinner on the table. And you know what? It was perfect.

Come cook with me!

Baby bok choy, ginger, garlic, chili paste.

Trim the ends off of the bok choy, and separate the ribs.

Rinse it well, and set it aside for a few minutes.

Chop up some fresh ginger and garlic.  You’re wondering how much? I went with about a 1/2 inch knob of ginger and 2 cloves of garlic, but you should do whatever feels right to you.  If it turns out too gingery, just called it “gingered bok choy” and no one will be the wiser.

I was out of sesame oil (I know, collective gasp) so I had to use good ol’ canola.

I should know better by now.  I need to think of a better kitchen inventory sysem.

Saute the ginger and garlic in your oil of choice for a minute or two until they become softened and fragrant.

Add a spoonfull of chili sauce/paste/whatever you have, and stir it around in the hot pan for a minute to wake everything up.

Add the bok choy back to the pan, along with about a tablespoon of water to help it steam.  Be careful though, it will splatter! This is not the point in time when you want to lean in and inhale deeply, trust me.

Give it all a stir to get the bok choy properly acquainted with the other ingredients.

Cover the whole thing with a lid to allow it to steam for 3-4 minutes, or until it’s tender-crisp.

Sometimes I eat right out of the pan, but this time I decided to use a plate.

I’m classy like that.

I even garnished with some gomashio to make up for my lack of sesame oil.

Spicy baby bok choy? Don’t mind if I do!

Ahh…just what the doctor ordered.  I feel healthier just for eating this, and I bet that you will too.

So, what shall we make next?

Please submit any and all suggestions on the “Ask Martha” tab and I will do my best to deliver.

Until next time…

xoxo

Jaclyn

8 responses to “(Spicy) Baby Bok Choy

  1. Chili paste? I don’t have chili paste. Hmm? I do have that new jar of chili powder I bought yesterday. Tell me about chili paste and why I should have it in my larder.

    S

  2. Tell me about Gomashio? Don’t seem to have that either.

    S

  3. Hmm? I DO have a lovely package of fresh bok choy in my fridge though, so that’s a start.

    • Chili paste is one of those things that is great to have on hand because it lasts forever and adds a good punch to whatever you’re making. Gomashio is a blend of black and white sesame seeds and salt. I have both at my house, so if you’d like to pop over I’d be happy to give you some to sample 🙂

  4. Hmm? What I did just discover I have is an un-opened bottle of Mild Douce Curry Paste Pate de Cari. The chances of me using that is probably zero to none. No idea why I bought it. Must have seemed like a good idea at the time. So, if you ever have a recipe that calls for it you are welcome to use it.

    So would you use that chili paste instead of powdered chili?

    S

    • I know what you mean Shae, I find “hidden treasures” in my cupboards and fridge regularly! Thanks for the offer; I’d love to take the curry paste off your hands 🙂

      Chili paste often has other things mixed in with it – sugar, salt, oil, nuts, other seasonings, etc. I wouldn’t necessarily substitute one for the other, but in certain things it would be ok. You really have to just play around and see what works for you…trust your inner chef!

  5. We ate the whole bag of baby bok choy with some of last night’s chili … really nice. Thanks for the suggestion! I just had to substitute Hoisin sauce for the chili paste.

    S

Leave a Reply

